Home About Prof.
Sunney Xie
Research Publications Collaborators News Group
Join Us Contact Us Group

Professor Xiaoliang Sunney Xie

Post: Peking University
Integrated Science Research Building
heyuan Road, No. 5, Haidian District, Beijing
Phone: (010) 6275 2373
Fax: (010) 6275 2373
Email: sunneyxie@pku.edu.cn


Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie is a world renown biophysical chemist. He received his BSc in chemistry from Peking University in 1984, and his PhD in physical chemistry in 1990 from UC San Diego. After a career at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, he became the first tenured professor at Harvard University among Chinese Scholars who came to the USA since the Reform in China. As a pioneer of single molecule biophysical chemistry, coherent Raman scattering microscopy, and single cell genomics, he made major contributions to the emergence of these fields. Furthermore, Xie has made significant advances on medical applications of label-free optical imaging and single cell genomics. In particular, his inventions have been used in in vitro fertilization and have benefited hundreds of couples in China in avoiding the transmission of their monogenic diseases to their newborns. In addition, Prof. Xie has trained more than 100 graduate students and postdocs, many of whom have become professors at more than 40 major universities around the world. Since 2010, he has been the Director of Biodynamics Optical Imaging Center (BIOPIC) at Peking University, and in 2016 he became the Director of Beijing Advanced Innovation Center for Genomics (ICG). Prof. Xie is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the US National Academy of Medicine. Among his numerous honors are the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, the American Chemical Society’s Peter Debye Award and the Biophysical Society Founders’ Award.

As of Dec 2019, Prof. Xie has published over 230 papers.

Prof. Xie’s current research interests include scientific research, technological research, and medical research.


1990 Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California - San Diego with Professor John D. Simon
1984 B.S. Chemistry, Peking University, Beijing, P. R. China

Professional Appointments

2019.10 - Dean of Faculty of Sciences at Peking University
2018.7 - Lee-Shau-kee Professor at Peking University
2016 - Director, Beijing Advanced Innovation Center for Genomics, Peking University
2010 - Director, Biomedical Pioneering Innovation Center, Peking University
2009 - 2018.6 Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
2009 - 2014 Cheung Kong Visiting Professor, College of Life Sciences, Biodynamic Optical Imaging Center, Peking University
1999 - 2009 Professor of Chemistry, Harvard University, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
1992 - 1998 Senior Research Scientist to Chief Scientist, Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
1990 - 1992 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Chicago with Professor Graham R. Fleming


2018 World Outstanding Chinese Award, Hongkong
2017 Foreign Member of Chinese Academy of Science
2017 Qiu Shi Science and Technology Prize
2016 Member of US National Academy of Medicine
2016 Ray Wu Award, Chinese Biological Investigators Society
2015 Shizhang Bei Prize in Biophsyics, Chinese Biophysical Society
2015 Albany Prize in Medicine Recipient
2015 ACS Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry
2014 Fellow of Optical Society of America
2014 Humboldt Fellowship, Germany
2013 NIH Director's Pioneer Award Recipient
2013 Ellis R. Lippincott Award, Optical Society of America and Society for Applied Spectroscopy
2012 Harrison Howe Award, Rochester Section of American Chemical Society
2012 Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
2012 Biophysical Society Founders Award
2011 Elected to the National Academy of Sciences
2010 Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society
2009 E.O. Lawrence Award in Chemistry, U.S. Department of Energy
2008 Fellow of the American Physical Society
2008 Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis for Laser Technology
2008 Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2007 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics
2006 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
2006 Fellow of Biophysical Society
2004 NIH Director's Pioneer Award Recipient
2003 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, Israel
1996 Coblentz Award, Coblentz Society

Named Lectureships

2019 Wang Yinglai Lecture, Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, CAS
2018 Eyring Lecture in Chemistry and Biochemistry, Arizona State University
2018 Mary Sue and Kenneth Coleman Life Sciences Lecture, University of Michigan
2018 Bei Lecture, Institute of Biophysics, China
2018 Baetjer Colloquium, Princeton University
2017 Bei Lecture, 19th IUPAB congress, Edinburgh, UK
2017 George Pimentel Lecture, UC Berkeley
2016 Richard Bernstein Lecture, UCLA
2016 Linnett Lecture, Cambridge, England
2015 Shui Mu Tsinghua Life Science Lecture, Tsinghua University, China
2015 Mendel Lecture, Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic
2014 Chilton Lecture, UT Southwestern, Dallas
2014 Russell Marker Lecture, Pennsylvania State University
2014 Andrew Albrecht Lecture, Cornell University
2013 Karl Friedrich Bonhoeffer Lecture, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany
2013 Honorary Professorship for Bingzhi Forum, Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
2013 Chongqing Lecture, Chongqing University, Chongqing, China
2012 Xingda Lecture, College of Chemistry, Peking University
2012 Leica Scientific Forum, Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Japan
2012 Harkins Lecture, University of Chicago
2012 Edward Mack, Jr. Memorial Award Lecture, Ohio State University
2011 Fassel Lecture in Analytical Chemistry, Iowa State University
2011 Purves Lecture, McGill University, Montreal, Canada
2011 Guthikonda Memorial Lecture, Columbia University
2011 H. Willard Davis Lecture in Chemistry, University of South Carolina, Columbia
2010 Dolan Pritchett Memorial Lecture, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
2009 Einstein Professorship of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
2008 Lawrence Bragg Lecture, Cambridge University, Cavendish Laboratory, UK
2008 Mueller Lecture, Purdue University, West Lafayette
2008 Gordon Lecture, University of Washington, Seattle
2008 Leica Scientific Forum UK, Cambridge, Liverpool, Oxford, London
2008 Francis Clifford Phillips Lecture, University of Pittsburgh
2007 Joseph Coleman Memorial Lecture, Yale University, New Haven
2007 Davidson Lecture, University of Kansas, Lawrence
2007 Noyes Distinguished Lecture, University of Texas at Austin
2007 Georges Smets Chair, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Université catholique de Louvain
2007 Chan Lecture, University of California, Berkeley
2007 Dow Lecture, University of British Columbia
2007 Powell Lecture, University of Richmond
2006 Marker Lecture, Pennsylvania State University
2006 Wang Ying-lai Memorial Lecture, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston
2005 Meyerhof Lecture, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg

PC Cross Lecture, University of Washington

Nieuwland Lecture, University of Notre Dame

Clarence Karcher Lecture, University of Oklahoma
2002 Noyes Distinguished Lecture, University of Rochester
2001 William Pyle Philips Distinguished Lecture, Haverford College